WHY DONT WOMEN LIFT?

In the course of making this blog I have always been interested in the reasons why women think that weightlifting is bad.

A few of these are ones I have sourced in my research and what I find so interesting about them is that they are all completely faulted!

  1. ‘Lifting weights will make me bulky and gain weight’ In reality, it’s nearly impossible for women to build the same kind of muscle mass as men because of hormonal differences. Men have much higher testosterone levels than women do, which is one major reason why men have so much more muscle mass. In fact, instead of adding bulk to your look, combining resistance training and cardio workouts will help women look longer and leaner as they get stronger.
  2. ‘I don’t know what I’m doing and will make a fool of myself’ To be honest this was something I originally struggled with during the beginning of my journey but came to realise that really NO-ONE in that gym is really looking at you, instead they are all in their own zone concentrating on what they are doing. Not looking at you
  3. ‘I’ll hurt myself’ I think this one just comes with practice, experience and education. I am constantly looking up new workouts on Pinterest, Instagram and online and figuring out how to correctly perform them. This is one way that works for me, otherwise getting a personal trainer at the beginning of your journey is a great idea.

b910992dc7f15f3d_happy-woman-on-bike.jpg.xxxlarge

Leave a Reply

